As it has been, as it shall always be (said the wizened elder)

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

That which is hath been already; and that which is to be hath already been: and God seeketh again that which is passed away.

– Ecclisiastes 3:15

.

still

.

I don’t know about you, but

I used to, not so long ago (in the grand scheme of things¹), have no time for anything anyone who could even remotely be thought of as a ‘wizened elder’ had to say on any given subject. Most of my revulsion (estimates range from anywhere between 60 and 90 percent) was based solely on the descriptor ‘wizened elder’ being easily used in reference to the one saying whatever it was they were saying. In other words, if someone was describing to me a situation in which they received, let’s say, some advice about some thing that was troubling them, and, quite rudely I admit, I interrupted them with the question, “Could you describe the person who offered this advice as a ‘wizened elder”?, and, though somewhat puzzled as well as wearing a most ridiculous expression upon their face, the person responded, “Why, yes, I do believe he (or her. Hers can be wizened elders, too!) was as you describe”, I would, without explanation, make a loud ‘harumph‘ and leave the company of this person swearing never to speak with them again.

.

.

.

¹ ‘The Grand Scheme of Things’ is the title of an upcoming series of posts which will be sure to enlighten and entertain those willing to be subjected to that sort of thing. Keep your eyes peeled, it is coming soon, real soon.

.

.

.

.

.

.

