“Society just isn’t ready for this”

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

“Sometimes people let the same problem make them miserable for years when they could just say, So what. That’s one of my favorite things to say. So what.

– Andy Warhol

.

IMG_3971

.

“Poppycock”!

That was my response when my trusted assistant, and dear friend, said to me, “Society just isn’t ready for this”. That was, word for word, what my assistant said to me when I quite excitedly showed her plans for my post from 6/25/2015 titled “Portraits of the dishes after they’ve been washed“. You may now ask yourself, as I did then ask my assistant, “What’s the biggie about some snaps of clean dishes”?. “Well”, my assistant explained, “nothing except for the fact that you, The President and Founder, a red blooded man, washed the dishes yourself”. Yes, I know, to some of you, like myself and my closest compatriots, enlightened and progressive as we are, the idea of a man washing the dishes seems perfectly acceptable, but, I tell you truly this, that to many out there, who you see daily and somehow know, on an instinctual level, better than to associate yourself with, the mere thought of a man bent over a sink scrubbing away at dirty dishes is a wretched and cursed thing best run off from proper society to live out its days alone and scared in a shallow burrow of its own making.

This inability of society to accept the new and different, sadly, is not unusual. Why it is, I often wonder, that the ranks of professional dish washers can be almost exclusively male and no one bats an eye, however, if a man not only washes the dishes at home, but also relishes the opportunity and treats it as a ritual of supreme importance he is the subject of ridicule and mockery? It no doubt has been with us all since those days red in tooth and claw when the only thing required of men to clean was another man’s clock or the carcass of some large beast he had, with bare hands or ingenious implement, brought down with great violence in order to feed his tribe. Or, perhaps it is a curse visited upon our common ancient father by The Great Maker for some horrible transgression, and as this criminal’s descendants we are still being punished all these years later with the utter madness of being unable to accept anything that is not the ways long ago established.  I am, of course, only guessing. The answer is better left to those who wallow around in those ancient days, and not to one such as myself always looking toward a brighter future I pray may be ahead.

However, no matter the reasons given, or the excuses provided for behavior most definitely not worthy of acceptance I say enough is a enough. More than enough actually. Too much, in fact. That’s it. I will no longer hide nor cower from society’s attempt to control those who are different, nor will I submit meekly to their constant shaming of those who follow another path they cannot or will not understand. No, I tell you now, I will no longer do it.

I AM A DISH WASHER!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

