Ladies and Gentlemen it’s time now for the all new, “The Devil made him do it” with your host the one and only, The President and Founder

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

“When the Devil chuckled: “Is it Art?” in the ear of the branded Cain.”

– Rudyard Kipling

.

“Sonofabitch”! There would be no surprise at the use of this exclamation nor shock at its vulgarity from the small crowd that was gathered. In fact, two of those (that we know of) then there, later, in private would discuss the exclamation at length and with admiration both agreeing its use more than justified.

I, on the other hand, would at my leisure spend various moments in contemplation of its affect and, at times, foolishly mention my thoughts on it to others during long car rides. Once reminded of the inappropriateness of this I would turn to look out the window into a field in which was an older woman sitting on a white plastic chair dangerously close (it seemed to me) to a large fire of burning yard debris. “The Devil” I would say to myself, “The Father of Lies”, I would whisper under my breath, “Perhaps” I would offer as an answer while the woman and her fire passed out of sight.¹

.

newheadThe second in a series of illustrations

.

.

¹This (like a great many things) is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner (and therefore should not result in you either contacting your Congressman or taking to the streets). Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental (So, if you chose to spend your time in theorizing about the whys and wherefores just keep this in mind and don’t feel the need to hurt people or damage property in reaction to others theorizing).

Thank you for your invaluable time,

The President and Founder

The Institute

for the Study of

Slightly Varying Circumstances

.

.

.

.

.

