The Sloven’s Privilege

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

a

.

Hey, guys, can we talk seriously for a moment? I know usually were joshing together, pulling each others legs and such, but, right now I want to tell you about an experience that may resonate with some of you. Are you ready? Okay, here goes.

I went traveling for no reason.

And that’s not all. No, there’s more I need to tell you. You know how when you go into a hotel room and there are hangers provided in the closet, right? Well, I don’t use them. I know what you’re saying, “So, fucking what, loser, this is lame, get a life”, but just hear me out, please, just a minute or two more. You see, this last time I was driving around the country aimlessly, staying where ever I wanted for however long I chose, I found myself one evening in a quiet hotel room, much like any other, staring at the empty coat hangers in the closet. How much time I spent looking at them I cannot say, but the guilt I felt I can never forget. What, I wondered, gave me the right. Why could I go through life without a care for my personal appearance while others, either because of some neurosis or because of their need to earn money had to be almost constantly pressed and polished? It seemed unfair. Seven hangers available and unwanted while perhaps even next door someone had a coat that could not be hung for the lack of just one. This poor soul would be forced to either hang the garment over a chair or call down to the front desk in the hope that they could send a few extra hangers up. And me? All the while I’d be laid out on the bed, not a care in the world, dressed in nothing but my skivvies drinking a caffeinated beverage, eating chips and watching Animal Planet.

.

.

.

