I may have (very well) been asking for it

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

c

.

“How do I know?”

– The President and Founder

.

Ah, yes, “How do I know?” I know so well, often bringing it out whether it be truly needed or not. Lazy I have become in its use, so tired I can be of those Sandwich Eaters shouting questions from beyond the fence while square in the sights of my trusty Red Rider. Blessedly unknowing of the stinging pain a BB to the forehead delivers, that is, until they know. Until I, perhaps upon a whim, do squeeze off a round in their direction resulting soon after with them making sounds not unlike the yelping of a little dog, stepped on by a clumsy uncle, diminishing over time into a whimpering, and then, finally, into silence.

But.

This is no way for one such as myself to behave in the face of the inevitable clash that comes when two worlds meet. No, it is up to me, it is my responsibility, to step forward, to carry the weight even when those all around are at each others throats over whatever fixings may be left for sliding between the last few slices of long since stale and near molding bread that one might hope to scrounge from the already ransacked cupboards of civilization.

So.

I will do better. And by ‘better’ I mean, I will, as the dictionary defines it, “improve on or surpass (an existing or previous level or achievement)”. Which, much to my relief, will require little effort.

..

– The President and Founder

.

.

.

.

