A court jester with a broken heart

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

I’m not going to lie to you, not this time, there’s no reason to, though, don’t think I wouldn’t in a pinch, I mean, if I had no choice, I mean, if it meant the difference between ‘the whole thing blowin’ sky high’ and your, I don’t know, let’s say, ‘your feelings’, well, what do you think? That’s right, you’d be a little down in the dumps, but, hey, you’d get over it. Don’t you usually? Eventually, anyway, right? Of course you do. So, alright, listen, now that another unimaginable disaster has, once again, been averted there’s something I’ve been meaning to talk to you about…

.

take me

.

Believe me

you do not want to go

to TV City

for

(I swear to you)

there is not a single blade of grass to be found

(anywhere)

and the girls

(from the few I saw I would say)

well,

they’re not what you’d call

“conventionally pretty”

and

other than that

what is there?

Ah, yes

Fortune and Fame

Of course!

So desired and despised

sought after by all

the world over

by

(for example)

urchin’s livin’ under the street

and

hard cases

that are tough to beat

who readily admit to being your charity case

and demand you buy them something to eat

all the while offering

to pay you at another time

pointing one long dirty finger

toward the end

of an inconceivably long line¹

Oh, such an oft told story that

passed from father to son

written down in beautiful script

by the monks of old

carved into stone as well

by interesting aborigines

so nothing surprising there really

which is but one

of the many reasons

I would never suggest you visit

TV City

.

.

.

poet

.

.¹ These words in italics (though, if I were to be honest, and there’s really no reason, right now, for me not to be, the whole damn Poetization) are heavily influenced by, if not outright stolen from, the classic song ‘Paradise City’ written by Axl Rose, Slash, Izzy Stradlin, Duff McKagan, Steven Adler, and performed (completely rocked, actually) by Guns N’ (fuckin’) Roses, which, if for some reason you don’t know, because, say, you’re an alien being or something, appeared on the album ‘Appetite for Destruction’which, right now I have none of, and, why, I have once again, but with very good reason, lied to you.

.

s .

.

