I’d like to believe

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

I’d like to believe, I did believe while out there beyond the secure borders of The Institute that somewhere in the often times cold, and regularly unnecessarily vindictive vastness of cyberspace there was someone setting out a candle in the window for me. Ha, yes, ha, I laugh at the very idea now seated as I am quite comfortably upon the purple couch from where, almost daily and without provocation, I send out my most humble messages, which, when translated into any of the many languages our kind, and others nothing like us, speak, are simply heard as the voice of one man wandering the wilderness calling out, “Is anyone there”? And, of course, as you could probably guess, if you have spent any appreciable amount of time exploring cyberspace where, unlike space, people can, and do very often look forward to hearing you scream, I received no response. Alright, perhaps I exaggerate slightly, but only slightly. It is, this virtual world, you must remember, still a land untamed in parts, full of dangers, and darkness unfathomable, yet, not entirely without a glimmer of hope for a free and secure civilization within which we all may strive toward both our individual and common goals shining upon that distant horizon.

It is so

.

beengone

.

[Meanwhile, Jack Horrorchild was still breathing out murderous threats against The President and Founder’s disciples]

.

After nearly twelve hours on the road

I entered an area shrouded in fog

and, well

as crazy as it sounds

I heard a voice say

“Jack, Jack, why do you persecute me?”

“Who are you, President and Founder”? I asked

not at all sure why I addressed him as such

“I am The President and Founder, whom you are persecuting,” he replied. “Now get up and go into The Institute for the Study of Slightly Varying Circumstances, and you will be told what you must do.”

and then

after that

as if that wasn’t enough

I was blind for a while

and didn’t eat anything

but later

to make a long story short

I had my sight returned

then had something to eat

and went to work for The President and Founder

as his official Poetizer

The End

.

.

poet

.

.

.

.

.

 

