On past injustice

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

 

Although unfinished the following is offered to the public in response to the unprecedented demands received for some small portion of what they have long been waiting for

.

IMG_1075

.

Excerpt from

.

A Letter to my Grandmother in Heaven

A President and Founder Story

.

“Get over it”. Yes, I have, on numerous occasions, heard that demand from others, and, while it may perhaps be good advice in most instances, in the case of this one particular incident from my past it is something I will most likely never be able to do.

I guess I should state right up front, for those who do not already know, that I was, like many prophets, at least some of the more popular, before me, born in a small desert community. Now, whether my gift was as a result of the scorching heat, the dryness of the air or a combination of the two along with a mad desire for solitude by the assortment of odd individuals who do call these environments home I cannot say, but what I can say, and has been attested to by others, is that there can be very little doubt that, as I was born with a caul like my great grandmother before me, amazing things lay in store for me.

Amazing things. Who can say, or at least agree with another what those may be? I have, while passing some few hours within a coffee shop filled with middle aged men and college aged girls, taken part in many a heated argument about what, and sometimes if anything, could be truly considered ‘amazing’. Like a good deal of these discussions which take place daily in a million coffee shops scattered across the planet no consensus was ever truly reached nor was it in truth wanted, for, as we all knew, one should not ever, under any circumstance, speak aloud those things that are amazing. Why this is we do not know, or I know I don’t. Some have said there was a time, in the early 1990s by most accounts, when a majority of coffee shops kept clearly posted a sign outlining what were accepted to be the rules of conversations within which anything that could be declared without doubt or simply construed to be amazing. I, at the time, having little patience for those who made it a habit to hang about those places was never fully familiar with these rules though I did often hear of them from customers who, not surprisingly, also spent a good deal of time wandering about gormless inside the thrift store where I was employed. These whispers I heard from those customers must be remembered to be nothing more than rumors which while common to all time periods were all the more prevalent during this time due to a confluence of societal forces including Hollywood films, and popular music.

.

.

.

.

.

