A striking absence of noise

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

“One doesn’t drink here any more and it’s quiet, too quiet.”

– Marcel Duchamp

.

“It’s quiet out here; too quiet. I’ve always wanted to say that.”

– Face (A-team episode “The Taxicab Wars”, aired 11/01/83)

.

[The three Turtles infiltrate The Shredder’s junkyard.]    

Donatello: The perimeter’s quiet. 

Leonardo: Yeah, a little too quiet. 

Michelangelo: Come on. [The Turtles sneak forward; Donatello takes out two sentries solo]

Donatello: Well, that was easy.

Leonardo: Yeah, a little too easy.[They see Raphael tied to a post]

Donatello: Look, it’s Raph!

Michelangelo: Yeah, a little too Raph.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze

(Wikiquote)

.

IMG_0854

.

When, at some time in the past, I made the statement that “There’s no reason for any of this” I could have very well been doing, as I see it, one of three things. I was either prophesying, seeing visions, or dreaming dreams which, if you are at all familiar with the Bible (or, ‘your Bible’, depending) then you, no doubt, are well aware of what any or all three of these possibilities would seem to indicate if the following was to be believed.

And it shall come to pass in the last days, says God, I will pour out of my Spirit upon all flesh: and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams

Acts 2:17

Yeah, I know, I could hardly believe it myself. Scary stuff, but not nearly as scary as the ‘deafening silence’ I found when, after taking care of various matters in the real world, I returned to the deep recesses of the twisting, turning canyon that is the internet. Why so quiet? I still cannot say. I may never know. I will, however, leave for you here, scrawled upon the sheer face of a canyon wall the above drawing, and as well, the solemn promise to examine each and every horizontal support of ‘The Ladder’, and as is my lot in this life, take the time necessary (though I have many other pressing obligations) to prepare , for all who are interested, a comprehensive overview of the conclusions reached. Until then, I wish you well on your travels, be they here in this, as it is referred to within certain circles, “infinite ravine”, or out there in the beyond where you and I may never meet.

– The President and Founder

.

.

.

.

.

.

          
