Why it’s Veterans Day, I haven’t missed it!

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

“Bob, I got a bad feeling on this one, all right? I mean I got a bad feeling! I don’t think I’m gonna make it outta here! D’ya understand what I’m sayin’ to you?”

.

American fighting man

.

When the above photo was taken most of you were in diapers crying, as babies do, to your mama, or maybe your grandma (but not grandpa, oh, no, because he died in the fucking war), though I don’t know what your home life was like because I was too busy (ready to give my last full measure) making the world safe (for Democracy). While you candy asses, who weren’t babies, were disco dancing, or banging your head, or whatever other mindless nonsense you immersed yourself in with the hope of hiding from the constant pain of being alive, I was out there making sure you could do it, how ever, when ever and where ever you wanted. Don’t bother with the thank yous, it’s like a guy giving his best girl flowers after he’s been caught cheating, it’s too late, you’ve already fucked it all up, all the hard work, all the sacrifice, you just shit all over it. I know, I know what you’re saying, “but, me, me, me, I, I, I,”, shut the hell up, I’ve heard it already. Most veterans (Heroes) won’t say it, they do what they can (sometimes under quite unpleasant circumstances indeed) to spare you all from the horror (the horror, the horror), but not me, I’m gonna say it, Fuck you.

.

.

.

.

.

.

