The Last Temptation of the President and Founder

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

“The rain beats out a melancholy rhythm upon my window”

– The President and Founder

.

IMG_0769

.

As I gaze out upon the rain soaked vista, unwilling to endure the storm outside my shelter, I feel some small shame nagged as I am by thoughts of a perfect sunny day. To  prefer one over the other though both were created by those Ancient Ones, the Gods above, for all for us, cannot be right, can only be wrong, and so, I am correct only in wanting to hide myself from our benevolent master’s vision, but (alas) it is mere folly to be noted for their later reference.

Actually, you know what’s really crazy? No, that’s not it, it’s this: There is no one out there amongst you who have had to pull themselves up by their bootstraps, or for that matter, by any means, and return, rightly chastised, to the more traditional Varmint Trap that they laughingly abandoned long ago for a life of debauchery the likes of which I have no intention of relating here. Oh,well, I guess for me it will always be just like David Coverdale sang:

.

I don’t know where I’m going, but I sure know where I’ve been
Hanging on the promises in the songs of yesterday
And I’ve made up my mind
I ain’t wasting no more time
Here I go again, here I go again

Though I keep searching for an answer
I never seem to find what I’m looking for
Oh Lord*, I pray you give me strength to carry on
‘Cause I know what it means
To walk along the lonely street of dreams

Here I go again on my own
Going down the only road I’ve ever known
Like a drifter, I was born to walk alone
And I’ve made up my mind
I ain’t wasting no more time

.

.

.

* Please, replace ‘Lord’ with ‘Ancient Ones’, or ‘Great Gods Above’, thank you, P&E.

.

.

.

.

.

