This is real life

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

JACK’S BACK!

.

dead peoples property

.

Listen

and listen good

I’m not about to

sugar coat this for you

sorry

you may have been expecting

a poem

that fits

some old fashioned definition

of what a poem is

but

again

sorry

I can’t worry about your comfort

this story is too important

you see

yesterday

my assistant

you remember her, right?

I’ve mentioned her before

on numerous occassions

what?

Were you asleep?

What the fuck, man

lame

anyway

my assistant made me

go into

one of those

second hand stores

or

whatever they’re called

filled

with

DEAD PEOPLE’S PROPERTY!

where she showed me stuff

and

this is how it went

Assistant: Hey, look at this shirt

Me: The guy who wore that is dead

Assistant: Wow, this is a cool old radio

Me: The person who used to listen to what you now call ‘oldies’ on that radio has been dead longer than you’ve been alive

Assistant: Check out these VHS tapes!

Me: I knew a guy who worked at a Blockbuster, he’s dead now.

Assistant: Oh, these boots are funky!

Me: Yeah, if you want dead people germs on your feet

THE END

.

.

.

.poet

.

.

.

.

.

