Ode to The Floating Head*

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

Maybe not an ode

but what do you care

it’s only The Floating Head

and I like it¹

.

.

.

.

.

* This is in reference to the song ‘Ode to Billie Joe’ written and performed by Bobbie Gentry. It was a number one song in 1967. Here is a sample of the lyrics:

It was the third of June, another sleepy, dusty Delta day
I was out choppin’ cotton and my brother was balin’ hay
And at dinner time we stopped and walked back to the house to eat
And Mama hollered out the back door “y’all remember to wipe your feet”
And then she said “I got some news this mornin’ from Choctaw Ridge”
“Today Billie Joe MacAllister jumped off the Tallahatchie Bridge”

.

I’m not sure what connection this has, if any, to The Floating Head, but, it’s a creepy song, especially the part about “Choctaw Ridge”. Choctaw Ridge! Freaky.

.

¹ I don’t like that The Floating Head was held in bondage, I like The Floating Head, and hope for him to gain his freedom, as I hope the same for all oppressed people. Yes, even you.

Was that not clear?

,.

.

.

.

.

