Does your heart no longer stir with pride at the sound of the word ‘American’?

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

I ask only because in the last week I made a post which primarily was about a new cartoon I came up with (all by myself) called ‘The Floating Head and Wilson’ which included the lyrics for the song ‘We’re an American Band’. Now, within the time of most of our memories, only (approximately) 10 years ago, I am almost 100% positive you, or the majority of you, would have gone crazy at anything vaguely related to America. So, I guess,what I’m wondering is,what happened? No one gave a damn about my cartoon (which, by the way, I did my darnedest to make as good as it could be) containing lyrics extolling the virtues of an American Band (the best, I’m sure you’ll agree, kind of band there is), the same lyrics that only a decade ago would have sent you and your extended family (you know, Grandma and Grandpa, the babies, everybody) into paroxysms of patriotism until everything within a mile of you was draped in the red white and blue, but now, not a single (please, excuse the language) fucking word.

OK

So, being that I (like my American ancestors who, I’ll have you know, can be traced all the way to the Massachusetts Bay Colony and were extremely religious as well) am not one to give up just like that, I made the decision (a most benevolent decision in keeping with my American heritage) to give you another chance to show your true colors, the kind of colors that don’t run, the kind of colors that Mr. Charlie Daniels was singing about all them years ago when at the time our sworn enemy was the Russians, the Evil Empire (please, take this moment to think of the forgotten Cold Warriors), and wouldn’t you know it, true to his prophet like ways, them Rooskies are once again, as Mr. Daniels himself would no doubt say, “On our shit list”.

Alright, here they are.

The lyrics that will fill you with pride

Brought to you by

the hottest Country Music Duo since Reno and Smiley,

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I give you,

The Floating Head and Wilson!

.

floatinwilsonamerica

.

.

.

The song ‘In America’ was written by The Charlie Daniels Band. It was released as a single in 1980.

This next part is taken completely from wikipedia

and, boy, is it ever a humdinger

The line, “Just go and lay your hand on a Pittsburgh Steelers fan” stems from Daniels’ feeling that the people in Pittsburgh are “The salt of the earth, the finest, just the greatest people. The strength of America.” He says, “I’ve gone to ball games at different places, but I’ve always felt the Pittsburgh Steelers fans, especially in the old stadium – I mean, they’re steel workers and they’re good old guys with blisters, or calluses on their hands. The strength of America is not in Washington D.C., It’s in our people, it’s on the farms, in the factories. It’s the people out here that make this country work. The truck drivers, the farmers. And these people, that’s what they were, and I just felt like if you want to go to war, let me take some of these guys with me. Go lay your hand on a Pittsburgh Steelers fan, and you’re gonna find out what American anger is, because it’s the kind of people they are.”

..

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

