This hastily executed drawing

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

.

Was it with

excessive speed

or urgency

perhaps

hurriedly

maybe it was

a combination of all three!

Ha ha!

Yes

we do now know

the determining factors

but we cannot help but wonder

were they

really honestly

beyond

your willful control?

.

.

It  was in the spring of the year 201_ that I took a small but comfortable room above a Cobbler’s¹ shop in a part of town some had once thought would see a revival, though due to various economic reasons, I admit to not understanding or caring to, this neighborhood instead slowly deteriorated into an area of debauchery and devastation . I took the room not because I was without funds, far from it, for I had, thanks to my dear Uncle Silas, a quite handsome allowance which would have permitted me to find rooms in any of the most fashionable parts of the city if I so chose to do so. Neither did I take the room as a hideout from the authorities, in fact, I had no dealings with them at all, being that while in public I never behaved in a manner that would give them cause to treat me roughly or did ever associate with that class of people who are on a first name basis with the local constables².I simply chose the room for its location on a street where I had been told in confidence by an eastern mystic, the acquaintance of which I had made while at one of my Uncle’s strange parties³, who told me that it was there on the very street my room now overlooked that I would discover the determining factors beyond willful control.

.

.

.

.

.

¹ I apologize if this lead you to imagine that I had found lodging above the shop of someone who repairs shoes, for I was myself unaware, until some time after writing the above when I took a pair of much loved boots in to be resoled, that although the shop’s sign did indeed read, “The Cobbler”, it had nothing whatsoever to do with shoes. In actuality the shop was a provider of any and all imaginable products associated with a mountain, located near the head of Long Loch in Scotland, which is commonly called, The Cobbler, though some, but not many, call it, Ben Arthur, which, according to a book available within the shop, is “one of the most impressive summits in the Southern Highlands”. Oddly, my room, and the shop as well, is not located anywhere near Scotland.

² It is not my intention to suggest that I in any way find those employed within law enforcement unworthy of my friendship or that they are beneath my station, though technically they are, for, in truth, as I am often heard to remark, after imbibing more than my fair share  at the Savile Club, “I will have you know that among my dearest friends I count, at any given time, at least three cops”

³ Because of his fabulous wealth my Uncle Silas is able to sponsor less than savory sports, and all forms of questionable entertainments at his parties. I do hope this brief explanation allows you to understand, without my divulging more details than would be prudent, the presence, and my subsequent meeting there, of an eastern mystic.

.

.

.

.

The Determining Factors.

.

.

.

