Indefatigable assiduity

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

The first ray of light which illumines the gloom, and converts into a dazzling brilliancy that obscurity in which the earlier history of the public career of the immortal Pickwick would appear to be involved, is derived from the perusal of the following entry in the Transactions of the Pickwick Club, which the editor of these papers feels the highest pleasure in laying before his readers, as a proof of the careful attention, indefatigable assiduity, and nice discrimination, with which his search among the multifarious documents confided to him has been conducted.

Chapter 1, first paragraph

The Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club

by Charles Dickens

.

If you are not acquainted with the Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club I urge you to immediately rectify this situation. Now, right now, leave whatever it is you are doing and find a copy of it. The whole book is available on line for free if you are unable to locate a bookstore (oh, the horror of it) or are unsure of whether it is available on kindle or whatever other electronic devilry they have enslaved you with, so, go get it, read it, change your life.

or

perhaps not

I am aware, though I by no means dwell upon the fact, that people do not necessarily share my opinions on a wide variety of subjects, what books are worth reading being but one of them.

However

I do believe (simply because I choose to, because it makes me feel good, because it keeps away the terror) that The Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club should, if any book could (and how this would happen I do not know, but would be willing to conjecture on the whys and wherefores late into the evening), become some distant future world’s Holy Book.

You can say I’m a dreamer

but I’m not

I’m a

Contemplator

there’s a big difference

and one of them is we don’t associate ourselves with John Lennon, and have little patience for those invaders from Britain that he at one time had as his acquaintances.

but, please, excuse me

that was unnecessarily mean spirited

and

I have gone completely off subject, veered into territory I have made an oath not to expose you to until you prove yourself ready.

What I am here to tell you is that just the other day I purchased a rather nice copy of The Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club which, most fortunately for you, allows me to tell of a post I made not so long ago titled

The Occurrence of Circumstance within The Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club

.

which, if you have not read it

I urge you to now

as it will

change

your life

Go

go and read it now

for

within there is

what may be

along with

the only comprehensive listing of circumstances

found in

The Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club

but other things as well

strange and wonderful

However

Be warned

this way leads to

Chapel Perilous¹

 

Click here to be magically transported to the aforementioned circumstances

.

And here’s the book!

It’s got pictures!

.

1

.

.

2

.

.

3

.

.The book, printed one year after the end of  ‘WORLD WAR II: The Germans Have Pissed us off for the last time’, was most likely purchased shortly thereafter (by the wife of a businessman), placed on a shelf, and forgotten only to experience over 50 years of must and dust until arriving at the bookstore from which I purchased it.

.

.

.

.

.¹ Chapel Perilous, like the mysterious entity called “I,” cannot be located in the space-time continuum; it is weightless, odorless, tasteless and undetectable by ordinary instruments. Indeed, like the Ego, it is even possible to deny that it is there. And yet, even more like the Ego, once you are inside it, there doesn’t seem to be any way to ever get out again, until you suddenly discover that it has been brought into existence by thought and does not exist outside thought. Everything you fear is waiting with slavering jaws in Chapel Perilous…

– ‘Cosmic Trigger’ Robert Anton Wilson

.

..

.

.

.

.

.

