Happy Mother’s Day (A song and a drawing for all you Mothers)

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

As promised

.

This is the first in the series of drawings brought back from the brink of extinction, retrieved (at great peril) from the yawning abyss of The Institute’s storage room, and presented to you.

.

b2

.

The above is an actual genuine Mother’s Day card which I presented to my own Mother some few years back. She (my Mother) along with having birthed myself also did give birth to my older brother who (it being his only purpose) provided me with endless torment, and whose demise I plotted nearly every day of my cursed childhood. And though I did never strike him down, bringing the mark upon my forehead so that every man would know me, I did on more than one occasion chase him, across the yard and beneath the branches of those few Grapefruit trees still standing from what used to be an expansive orchard, with a hammer or tire iron, or both at one time in my hands, threatening his life while all around us the neighbors mowed yards, hosed down driveways, or simply sat quietly in the shade drinking Fresca. This behavior may not seem to indicate that I was, as I call myself in the card above, ‘The Good Son’, but I was. I was the one who made the better offerings, the one who was, nearly every time, the hero of the family. Really, it’s true. I do believe if you were to write up the qualities of my brother and I on two separate sheets of unruled paper (which I can’t do right now, but only because of time restraints) it would quickly become apparent who was, in fact, the good son. Then again, does any of this matter to dear, sweet Mother? I have no idea, actually don’t want to know. I just want to wish her a Happy Mother’s day, and you as well, if you’re a Mother that is, and believe me, you’d know it if you were. Oh, yes, I nearly forgot, and then there’s a song, but, isn’t there always?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

