Have you never been mocked?

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

.

I have

But the reason I ask in this way is because I am making an allusion to the song ‘Have you never been mellow’, performed by Olivia Newton-John, which if you are (unbelievably) unaware of this song, please, take this time to familiarize yourself, trust me, it’s well worth the 3 minutes and 19 seconds. I insist:

.

.

Now, although my school boy crush on Ms. Newton-John still lingers, I must say that the original reason for this post was to present a  piece of art that was produced by a small child who, though he denied it, was most definitely mocking me, but, please, judge for yourself:

.

considered by an authority

.

So, if you are at all familiar with my oeuvre then you undoubtedly recognize the above as nothing less than an all out attack upon myself and everything I stand for; yet, if you’re at all like me, you, while recognizing it as such, remain unconcerned. Except, perhaps you aren’t like me, or do not feel you have enough information to base any comparison on that could be in any way meaningful, and so, I should probably explain myself.

You see, when I first (excitedly) thought of  posting the picture titled ‘Consistent with a standard’ in order to illicit sympathy for my plight of being mocked by a prepubescent boy I immediately thought of the post being called ‘Have you never been mocked’. Now, I cannot say for sure if at that moment I was thinking of the song, ‘Have you never been mellow’, beautifully performed by Olivia Newton-John, before I thought of calling it that, or at the same time, or in whatever other possible combinations there could be on this, as Thomas Huxley described it, “islet in the midst of an illimitable ocean of inexplicability”. But, I do know this:

In the third grade I performed in a choir made up of my classmates within the cafeteria of our school for an audience of parents, as well as, possibly, siblings, Aunts, Uncles, weird neighbors, etc… The song we sang, as you may have already guessed, was, ‘Have you never been mellow’! Why? I have been asking myself that for years. Why would someone, presumably an adult, think it an appropriate song for children to sing? This is not a new question. This question was in my mind even then as I sang the one question of so many in the song, “have you never tried to find a comfort from inside you”? I wouldn’t ask someone that now! And, yet, there I was with a bunch of other third graders singing these questions into that crowd of grown ups in a darkened cafeteria where either after the concert or at some time before I had been drinking a pint of milk, and eating a peanut butter and jelly sandwich while staring at  Zip the Postman on the side of my lunch box. I apologize. I know you can’t make sense of it, my Mother, who was there can’t make sense of it, doesn’t want to make sense of it, swears she can’t remember it! But, I do.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

