Top Comments

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

 

 “I like to listen. I have learned a great deal from listening carefully. Most people never listen.”

– Ernest Hemingway 

.

.

“I like to read YouTube comments. I have learned a great deal from reading them carefully. Most people never read YouTube comments.”

– The President and Founder

.

.

.

I am really not attempting to associate myself with Ernest Hemingway by using the above quote for I know nothing about him, and so have no idea if anyone would be at all impressed by the similarities between our words, but, I do feel, if I were not to include the above quote of his you, the reader, would perceive it as only a hollow place in my writing which would be not only unacceptable to me, but also wholly out of character as I am quite diligent about omitting only the things I know well.

be that as it may

As everyone who knows me knows by now I have been, over the past few days (perhaps weeks), posting a single photograph which depicts some young people protesting what I believe was the Vietnam war. This in and of itself is no great feat and is probably accomplished daily by more than a few across the globe. What does make my posting of the photograph unique, and more than a little interesting, is its clever manipulation. You see, I have, with the aid of a computer program, erased the original words (which were, by the way, written in a very haphazard manner and whose meaning is, in this day and age, of little to no importance), and replaced them with words of my own choosing. This activity has been satisfying not only spiritually,  but has as well, without fail, resulted in the eruption from myself of loud near uncontrollable laughter every time I post one. This had been for some time, as they say, ‘enough’, and, for a while at least I believed it always would be. Unfortunately, due partly to conditioning I received as a child, I began to feel that it was not in fact ‘enough’ and that there should be, had to be really, more, much more. I do not wish to burden you with tales of the anxiety this caused me except to say I found it unusually uncomfortable to spend the day in idleness, and had the most ridiculous feeling of having done nothing with my life until I was struck with the idea of combining this activity with another I enjoy immensely, reading YouTube comments. How this idea occurred to me I do not know (though I do not deny the possibility of it being presented to me by some kind of,well, let us say, cosmic force) but the beauty of it I cannot deny, and so I share it with you without any attempt to guide your way of thinking about them, but instead simply presenting them to you to be experienced.

 

.

.

 

.

youtube19

.

.

youtube18

.

.

youtube17

.

.

youtube16

.

.

youtube20

.

.

youtube2

.

.

youtube3

.

.youtube5

.

.

youtube6

.

.

youtube7

.

.

youtube8

.

.

youtube9

.

.

youtube10

.

.

youtube11

.

.

youtube12

.

.

youtube1

.

.

youtube15

.

.

.

.

