Under what Circumstances?

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

Slightly2
.

“You have to have an idea of what you are going to do, but it should be a vague idea”

-Pablo Diego José Francisco de Paula Juan Nepomuceno María de los Remedios Cipriano de la Santísima Trinidad Ruiz y Picasso

 .

I knew nothing of Slightly Varying Circumstances before the idea came to me. Sure, I was familiar with each of the words that form the title of the project, but I had never combined or even considered them as a whole. These three words were not (when I think back on it) the beginning of the idea, but were instead a revelation of the connections that existed between several thoughts I had been having at the time. The exact date of this revelation is now lost to me,but, I can recall a light (probably my desk lamp ( a clamp light purchased at a local hardware store)) and papers upon which I was making some kind of marks, either drawings or letter combinations forming words, which eventually became what is now Slightly Varying Circumstances. At the time, it seems, I may have known the importance of this event, for I wrote down the words over and over again in one of my composition books which, because of the amount of times the words occur within its pages, was given the title Slightly Varying Circumstances. Now, it being most likely a year ago that all this happened, I am forced to recreate most of what transpired from vague memories of events which (it is possible) I may now be combining in ways that are not at all true to what actually took place. My intention is not to mislead anyone (myself included), but is instead to go back in time to the origin of the idea which is what it was then as opposed to what it is now.

It’s detective work really, and as most of you know (because of the popularity of detective fiction and non-fiction (be it on the television, in books or upon the silver screen) detective work is fraught with danger, dead ends, and, of course, the occasional attractive lady. Tracking down leads is a tricky business. All of the evidence can be right in front of you (like the pieces of a jigsaw puzzle), but, how each fits together takes time and patience to figure out. Not everyone enjoys putting jigsaw puzzles together, and, of those who do, some are better at it than others. Most people who do put together jigsaw puzzles purchase them from toy stores or maybe even pharmacies, and these puzzles that they purchase have been created by and mass-produced by someone else someplace else. This means that the person who puts the jigsaw puzzle together had nothing to do with it being cut apart in the first place which (it would seem)(although a photograph of the completed puzzle is provided)) would make its re assembly more difficult. However, I can’t help but wonder if one was to create their own jigsaw puzzle would it be easier or more difficult to put back together after it was separated into thousands of pieces? At this point in my investigation my answer to that question would be that it is considerably more difficult. And the reason for this (maybe) is that since I was the one who chose the original picture and then made the marks upon it which I then carefully followed with the blade of my jigsaw (separating the whole into numerous parts of the whole) I would be under the impression that I (more than anyone else) was aware of how these pieces fit back together. Except, because of my belief that I knew this puzzle so well, I may be ,in fact, actually coming to false conclusions because of  the very feeling of thinking I knew what it was I did in the first place when beginning the creation of the puzzle.

Anyway, as you can see, this case is not an easy one, and perhaps it’s the kind of case that would be enjoyable to watch on the TV or at the movie house, or maybe even read about in a book just before you go to bed on a dark and stormy night with the threat of unseen dangers all around. Whatever your answer to that question is I am going to be on the case, staking out the possible location of events, following leads and asking questions, doggedly pursuing every possible angle until I crack this wide open. So, that’s it, until we meet again, next time, under Slightly Varying Circumstances.

