The Varieties of Circumstance

by illimitableoceanofinexplicability

 

“What has once happened, will invariably happen again, when the same circumstances which combined to produce it, shall again combine in the same way”

– Abraham Lincoln

.

      When beginning my examination of Slightly Varying Circumstances I began with the main subject which is,of course, the circumstances. Being that the word ‘circumstances’ is the plural form of circumstance this suggests the possibility of an unlimited number of circumstances. That these ‘Circumstances’ vary would seem to be a given and make each easily distinguishable from the other. Unfortunately, the first word in the title creates difficulties not easily surmountable. The fact, as stated in the title, that these circumstances vary slightly can cause one to overlook any number of circumstances and lead to an erroneous conclusion about how the circumstances relate as a whole. Now, one could imagine, if there was only a single circumstance that the reasons, or, a reason, could be assigned to it,and, with a small amount of research and contemplation, the whole thing would be wrapped up quite nicely. However, like life itself, it is not as easy as all that.

.
.

“You can not always control circumstances, but you can control your own thoughts.”

– Charles Popplestown

.

         To begin the identification and differentiation of the circumstances I went back to the image and tried to imagine what it was I was thinking when creating the drawing. In all likelihood the original idea for the drawing came a considerable time before and was not at all envisioned as the resulting drawing. This lag between the idea and the putting it down on paper could have resulted in a distortion of what the original intention was. Not to mention that, as I said previously, each person comes with their own individual interpretations of words and pictures resulting in what is probably not the exact or correct interpretation of what I was attempting to convey. The time between each portion of the process of bringing the idea out is much like a game of ‘telephone’ or what the British call ‘Chinese whispers’. This game involves a person whispering to another person a short phrase which is then whispered to another and another and so on until the resulting phrase is nothing at all like the original. Of course this is quite entertaining and almost always ends in a good laugh for all involved, but, it is a game, and that is it’s intention. My intention was not at all for the meaning to become distorted, however, like the game, it may be a result that is inevitable. After all, I can’t say for sure what it was I meant when this whole idea got started.

.

“The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and , if they can’t find them, make them.”

– George Bernard Shaw

.

    So, where does all this leave me? Not where I first started a year ago, but closer anyway, much closer. The circumstance or circumstances surrounding the birth of this idea seem to be becoming clearer. Will I ever know for sure that the conclusions I come to are the right ones? I would have to say,no, I will never know for sure. Yet, with a concerted effort it is possible for me to get close enough,and then it simply becomes a matter for me to, as they say, fake it until I make it.

